Undergraduate Student Updates

Lucy Bloomberg (2016, American Studies and GSS) was awarded a Summer Undergraduate Research Grant to conduct archival research on Jane, an underground abortion service in Chicago from 1969-1973, and will begin a
senior thesis in American Studies in the fall.

Lauren Goldstein (2018, Communication Studies and GSS) was awarded a Summer Internship Grant from NCA and will be interning in the Social Media department of Birchbox in New York this summer.

Graduate Student Updates

Carla Della Gatta (PhD, Interdisciplinary Program in Theatre and Drama & GSS Certificate) was a GSS Teaching Assistant during the 2014-15 school year and designed and taught a new course on “Latina Theatre & Feminisms” in Winter quarter. She will begin a tenure-track position as Assistant Professor of Critical Studies - Theatre at the University of Southern California in the fall.

Theo Greene (PhD Sociology and Gender & Sexuality Studies Certificate) will begin a tenure-track position as Assistant Professor of Sociology at Bowdoin College in the fall.

Faculty Updates

Jeffrey Masten (English/GSS) has been awarded a fellowship by the National Endowment for the Humanities for his research on early modern sexuality and drama.
Mary Weismantel (Anthropology) has been awarded an ACLS Fellowship for her project “An Archaeology of Sex: The Moche Sex Pots.”
E. Patrick Johnson (African-American Studies/Performance Studies) is one of the inaugural recipients of the Provost’s Award for Faculty Excellence in Diversity and Equity.
Kate Masur (History) and Shaundra Myers (English) have been accepted into the cohort of 2017-2018 Fellows for the Alice Kaplan Institute for the Humanities.
Huey Copeland (Art History) has been awarded a 2017 Absolut Art Writing Award. 
Hector Carrillo (Sociology and Gender & Sexuality Studies), Helen Thompson (English), Celeste Watkins-Hayes (Sociology and African American Studies) have been promoted to rank of professor for the 2017-2018 school year.  
Nick Davis (English/GSS) received The Alumnae of Northwestern Teaching Professor award.